Information Technology

About Us

     The Department of Information Technology (IT) provides cost-effective, leading-edge technology products and services to support instruction. IT is an integral part of the daily operations, from classrooms to board rooms.

  • ECPS uses Internet content filtering software in compliance with CIPA
  • Review the Internet Safety Policy in compliance with CIPA

Areas of Responsibility:

     The department is broken down into three main areas, District Support Services, Student Information Services, and Instructional Technology Support.

  • District Support Services – Manages all computer related support aspects, from student to board level, and to the ECPS community and target audiences where needed. Designs, installs, maintains, repairs, services all parts of the technology infrastructure.
  • Student Information Services - Manages all student, staff, and administrative needs for student information. Including PowerSchool, PowerSchool Parent Portal, state reporting, online testing, and data uploads.
  • Instructional Technology Support - The ITRT collaborates with classroom teachers on integrating technology, models technology-integration strategies, researches technologies, and conducts professional development.


     Members of the IT department attend monthly meetings with the Superintendent and Assistant Superintendent. The IT department is also represented during Essex Family meetings, school board meetings, and many more. The goal is to create a cohesive flow of information, achieve goals where technology is needed, and take a preventative nature toward problems which can arise in the ever changing landscape of technology.

Technology Committee:

     The ECPS Technology Committee oversees various aspects of technology in Essex County. The committee is charged with conceptualizing and the implementation of technology in the classroom setting. Further, the committee will review new software and hardware, changes to technology policies, feedback, and make decisions to improve student outcomes through the use of technology.

ECPS Technology Committee Members:
Damean Barfield - Essex High School Principal
Demi Fulcher - Essex High School CTE Director
Fontella Calhoun - Essex Intermediate School Principal
Harry Thomas - Superintendent
Janet Garland - Tappahannock Elementary School Principal
Pamela Floyd - Instructional Technology Resource Teacher
Jon Barnes - Director of Technology
Kimberly Chandler - Chief Academic Officer
Latanya Weeden - Essex Intermediate School Librarian
Leah Segar - School Board Member
Lindsay Edwards - Tappahannock Elementary School 1st Grade Teacher
Tara Roane - Assistant Superintendent


Please use the links below to contact the various members of the Technology Department. You may also contact us by phone at 804-445-9521.

Jon Barnes - Director of Technology
Todd Lewis - Division Technology Specialist
Antoinette Hopkins - Student Information Systems Specialist
Pamela Floyd- Instructional Technology Resource Teacher

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.